Pages

Showing posts with label Belgium. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Belgium. Show all posts

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

Belgian Badasses Tee



buy the women's tee here:
buy the men's tee here:
We believe the driekleur (Belgian National Champ jersey) is the best looking and most prestigious jersey worn in the peloton. From Leon Houa in 1894 to Roger De Vlaeminck in 1969 to Philippe Gilbert, the names of all of the champions come together to form this flag on this design. Add in the Lion of Flanders and this tee screams Belgian Badass!

$1 from every tee purchase will be donated to Steven Cozza’s Race for Kids. 
BUY IT HERE:Belgian Badasses

Saturday, July 2, 2011

Stage 1 of the #TDF: Even Gilbert's girlfriend matched his new kit

It get's no better for fans obsessed with all things Belgian than Gilbert kit today.  He paid attention to all the details from his his glasses to his watch.  His girlfriend even joined in!


His Belgian colored Canyon also looked sharp! (It's no Ritte Vlaanderen Bosberg but they are not UCI legal, so we will say his Canyon looks good.)




His watch is now on our MUST HAVE list of Belgian Bling! 








His girlfriend was also in the spirit!!! WE LOVE BELGIUM!




Thanks for reading.  Want 50% off to use on our site www.hbstache.com ?  We are this weeks Handlebargain. Buy @www.handlebargains.com

Thursday, March 31, 2011

It's the Ronde Damn it!

Out of respect to the Flemish people and the race, we will refer to the Ronde Van Vlaanderen as well...the Ronde and not the Tour of Flanders. We would not want them to call the Super Bowl something like Buuwel Van Suvvpper (just guessing since I was unable to locate an English to Flemish translator.  They have online English to Luxembourgish or Hmong but not Flemish).

So obviously, Fabian, "Swiss Machine", is the favorite, but we are wondering if you think anyone of these people/things can derail him.



1. Boonen:  Looks like the knee is solid, no police incidents, no blow and he just won Gent Wevelgem. He also has the strong team card to play, like he has in previous years with Chavanel.  We're pretty sure Boonen and his Quick Step team are pulling for the radio ban, since they have Capt. D-bag Lefevere in their ears.  If he doesn't get caught taking a drink again, etc..do you think he can hang onto Fabian when he attacks?



2. Mechanical/problem (flat, broken chain, crash)?  Fabian puts out crazy power - add in cobbles and 20% gradients, it is a lot of stress on his ride.  If he snaps another chain, flats at the wrong time or ends up on the ground (he might break the cobbles not the other way around) no one will be waiting.   I know Conta is not in the race, but you know what I mean - This is a 1 day race



3. Philipe Gilbert:  He is a Belgian (a Walloon, but still) and he wants to win this race for King and Country and all of that.  We have no question he will put in an attack and if things play out, he might be able to make it.



4. Matthew Goss: Want a dark horse? Matthew Goss is Belgian at heart, and he is a flat out fast!  Not sure if you have noticed but he is showing the world he is a force to be reckoned with!  He is not scared of weather or climbs as he proved in Paris Nice, and he can out sprint Fabian if he has the chance.



* Our heart forces us to include Stijn Devolder - who know if he has the form to win, but we had to include him.  He will don the finest threads in the peloton, and that Belgian Champions kit will give him wings like 4 Red Bulls, a double purple nurple and slap on the ass!


Thanks for reading - check out our tees at www.hbstache.com and use PROMO CODE: RONDE for Free Shipping on any order this week! 


*** Answer our Poll Question at the top right of the page***

Sunday, October 10, 2010

Are you Belgian at heart?

It’s getting to be the time of year, when temps drop and liquid falls the sky.  Do you have an Inner Belgian? When the weather moves in do you smirk as you know there will be very few cyclists out today?  When you call your riding buddies on a bad weather day and they say they “don’t feel good” or will be riding the trainer, do you tell them they are acting like a Spaniard? (All due respect to Juan Antonio Flecha* - more thoughts on him below).  Or do you ask them if they need help booking their trip to Majorca?
Here is a list to let you know if your inner Lion of Flanders is beginning to roar:
1.       You will head out in a driving rain storm or don’t turn back as weather rolls in.
2.       The trainer is for times when you want to ride at night or snow is getting so deep you can’t ride a road bike in it.
3.       You think about other cyclists not riding and feel the only reasonable excuse is a Kidney Stone, a broken C-bone or a Cross Race.
4.       You begin to envision the mid-ride hill as the Koppenberg  and your final climb as the Bosberg
5.       You gain the skill to be able to take the lane as needed from motorists.  For Example:  Your riding in a bike lane/shoulder when you notice a large volume of broken glass or the body of a wookie blocking your path.  As you look over at the person driving the SUV drinking a latte they see your face covered in grime and the water droplets falling from the bill of your cap.  They yield the lane to you, they are in awe you riding in the weather.  They are still a bit chilly in the car with the heat on wearing a hoodie and their fur lined Crocs.  They also respect and realize that if they did not give it to you, you might bridge up and chase them to Arby’s.
6.       You can name more Belgian cyclists than Merckx, Boonen and Develoder.
7.       You notice and respect the “Belgian” in riders not at the front of the race, but are still racing even though their work is done.
8.       You have to think deep on whether you fanaticize about winning the Ronde instead of the Tour during interval sessions.
9.       You order Embrocation for the 1st time
10.   You show up to a group ride and you are the only one there.
If you have not tested yourself in the elements, we recommend giving it a go and seeing if you have a bit Belgian in you.
* Juan Antonio Flecha, aka "The Spanish Flandarian" - is the exception to the normal "soft" Spanish cyclist.  We have heard rumor that Eddie Merckx's 1st cousin Thomas Merckx spent a good amount of time in Spain during 1977 and had a thing for Latin Ladies.  We're not sayin'...we're just sayin'.